fbpx

Stock ignorance in Germany. Why do so few people invest in stocks?

Reasons for ignorance of stocks are misunderstandings, a bad gut feeling and a healthy dose of indifference.
Reading time: 4 Minutes

TransparentShare - invest in stocks

Misunderstandings - Indifference - Why Invest?

Misunderstandings, a bad gut feeling and a good deal of indifference - these words can be used to describe the ratio of Germans to stocks. Even historically low interest rates have not changed that. This is the core result of a study by the Deutsches Aktieninstitut and the Stuttgart Stock Exchange.

Pension contributions will increase, pension payments will decrease. Anyone who wants to maintain their accustomed standard of living is well advised to use shares as a component of asset accumulation and retirement provision. Those who invest their money in stocks can participate in the long-term value creation of successful companies. Although the advantages of stocks are obvious, many studies show that Germans generally invest little in stocks and certainly not in stocks.

TransparentShare - businessman

 

What are the causes of the stock ignorance?

 

Fear and emotions

The fears from the stock market crashes from 2000 and 2008 are deep. Back then, many shareholders lost a lot of money and had bad experiences. In 2001, the German citizens owned 20% shares, in 2019 there are only 16.2%. Nine out of ten people who currently do not own stocks have not actively considered investing in stocks in recent years.

Too high a risk

The price fluctuations on the stock market are known and mean that the market cannot be assessed correctly. 65% of non-stockholders say stocks are too risky. However, few people know that with a broad and diversified portfolio and long-term commitment, the risk of loss is extremely low.

misunderstandings

The misconception of having to be a financial professional to invest in stocks persists. 64 percent of non-stockholders cite a lack of knowledge as the main reason for not investing in stocks. Only 29 percent of non-stockholders know about the return benefits of long-term stock investments. Only 19 percent are clear that an investment in shares makes sense even with smaller investment amounts.

indifference

Another important factor is the lack of your own drive. 87.3% of the non-shareholders are not actively involved in the stock investment. Also, 50% with an income of more than 3,500 euros say that you currently have no money to invest in stocks. Data from the Federal Statistical Office confirm that the Germans save like the world champions - just not with shares. They put an average of ten percent of their income on the high edge.

 

TransparentShare - DAI
Assessment of equity investments among non-equity owners (Source: DAI)

Only one in five non-share owners (19 percent) thinks it makes sense to invest small amounts in the stock market. Almost two thirds of shareholders (63 percent) recognize that investing in shares or equity funds makes sense even with smaller investment amounts.

With a monthly savings amount of 25 euros, as is possible with many savings plans on equity funds or ETFs, you can build up a considerable amount of savings in the long term.

This is made clear by the following example calculation:
Anyone who has invested 25 euros a month (a total of 6,000 euros) in shares of the German stock index DAX (e.g. via an ETF or fund) over the past 20 years would have had 13,000 euros today.

According to the Bundesbank, Germans invest just under 10 percent of their total financial assets in stocks. The private wealth accumulation of the population is more important than ever, especially with a view to the pension.

What can be done

 

Convey more security in financial matters

It is simply a matter of giving people greater security in financial matters in general and in dealing with stocks and securities in particular. After all, the meager nine percent of the total number of shareholders clearly reflect that the topic of financial education has not played a major role in school either. It would certainly be helpful to give young people a basic understanding of stocks. Experience with stocks changes the ability to correctly assess the risks and opportunities of investing in stocks, often significantly.

In view of the numerous misunderstandings, it is not surprising that just under 34 percent of the non-shareholders see shares and equity funds as suitable instruments for building wealth and only 20 percent as suitable instruments for retirement provision. For stockholders, on the other hand, the values are 75 and 55 percent. When it comes to other assessments of equity investments, shareholders are usually much better informed - for example, when assessing the risk and when asking whether shares are easy to acquire.

Shares need to be given greater consideration in reforms to public pension schemes

Politicians are called upon to deal more with the issue of stocks. There are many starting points for this. Almost every third non-share owner (28 percent) says that better government subsidies could arouse their interest in investing in shares. Old-age provision deserves special attention. For many in old age, the statutory pension will not be sufficient to maintain their current standard of living. Since the yield advantages of stocks come into play primarily in the long term, they should play a much greater role in retirement provision than before.

Conclusion:

Despite the long period of low interest rates and record levels on the stock exchanges, the number of shareholders has not increased significantly in recent years. On the positive side, however, it should be noted that personal contact with the equity investment - i.e. knowledge gained from experience - breaks these attitudes.

 

Source:

More blogs:

 

 

Stock ignorance in Germany. Why do so few people invest in stocks? 1

Share post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on xing
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

The last posts

Stock split explained simply - example: Apple

Stock split explained simply - example: Apple

In a stock split, existing shares are converted into a larger number of new shares with a lower ...
NEW: S&P 500 and EURO STOXX 50 stocks

NEW: S&P 500 and EURO STOXX 50 stocks

With immediate effect, S&P 500 and EURO STOXX 50 shares are available to all premium users of ...
What is a wikifolio? Wikifolio simply explained

What is a wikifolio? Wikifolio simply explained

A wikifolio is a virtual sample portfolio in which stocks, mutual funds, ETFs and certificates are bought and ...

Simply find the cheapest depot!

Compare now without obligation and without specifying an email address and find the cheapest depot.

OnVista Bank - The new trading freedom

Test for 14 days

Ready to go in 30 seconds

* Without specifying a credit card

en_US
de_DE en_US

fbpx

Aktien-Ignoranz in Deutschland. Warum investieren so wenige Menschen in Aktien?

Gründe für die Aktien-Ignoranz sind Missverständnisse, ein schlechtes Bauchgefühl und eine gehörige Portion Gleichgültigkeit.
Lesezeit: 4 Minuten

TransparentShare - In aktien investieren

Missverständnisse – Gleichgültigkeit – Warum Investieren?

Missverständnisse, ein schlechtes Bauchgefühl und eine gehörige Portion Gleichgültigkeit – mit diesen Worten lässt sich das Verhältnis der Deutschen zu Aktien beschreiben. Daran haben auch historisch niedrige Zinsen nichts geändert. Dies ist das Kernergebnis einer Studie des Deutschen Aktieninstituts und der Börse Stuttgart.

Die Rentenbeiträge werden steigen, die Rentenbezüge sinken. Wer den gewohnten Lebensstandard halten will, ist gut beraten, Aktien als Bestandteil des Vermögensaufbaus und der Altersvorsorge zu nutzen. Wer sein Geld in Aktien investiert, kann an der langfristigen Wertschöpfung erfolgreicher Unternehmen teilhaben. Obwohl die Vorteile von Aktien auf der Hand liegen, zeigen viele Untersuchungen: Die Deutschen investieren generell wenig in Wertpapiere und erst recht nicht in Aktien.

TransparentShare - Geschäftsmann

 

Was sind die Ursachen für die Aktien-Ignoranz?

 

Angst und Emotionen

Die Ängste aus den Börsencrashs ab 2000 und ab 2008 sitzen tief. Viele Aktionäre haben damals viel Geld verloren und schlechte Erfahrungen gemacht. 2001 waren 20% der Bundesbürger Aktienbesitzer, 2019 sind es nur noch 16,2%. Neun von zehn Personen, die aktuell keine Aktien besitzen, haben in den letzten Jahren die Aktienanlage nicht aktiv in Betracht gezogen.

Zu hohes Risiko

Die Kursschwankungen des Aktienmarktes sind bekannt und führen dazu, dass der Markt nicht richtig eingeschätzt werden kann. 65% der Nicht-Aktienbesitzer sagen, dass Aktien zu riskant sind. Dass jedoch bei einem breit gestreuten und diversifizierten Portfolio und einem langfristen Engagement das Verlustrisiko äußert gering ist, wissen hingegen nur wenige.

Missverständnisse

Die falsche Vorstellung ein Finanzprofi sein zu müssen, um in Aktien investieren zu können, hält sich hartnäckig. 64 Prozent der Nicht-Aktienbesitzer nennen mangelndes Wissen als Hauptgrund dafür, dass sie nicht in Aktien investieren. Nur 29 Prozent der Nicht-Aktienbesitzer wissen um den Renditevorteil der langfristigen Aktienanlage. Lediglich 19 Prozent ist klar, dass eine Aktienanlage auch bei kleineren Anlagebeträgen sinnvoll ist.

Gleichgültigkeit

Ein weiterer wesentlicher Faktor ist der fehlende eigene Antrieb. 87,3% der Nicht-Aktionäre setzen sich nicht aktiv mit der Aktienanlage auseinander. Auch sagen 50% mit einem Einkommen von mehr als 3.500 Euro, dass Sie momentan kein Geld für die Aktienanlage haben. Daten des Statistischen Bundesamtes bestätigen, dass die Deutschen wie die Weltmeister – nur nicht mit Aktien – sparen. So legen sie im Durchschnitt zehn Prozent ihres Einkommens auf die hohe Kante.

 

TransparentShare - DAI
Einschätzung zur Aktienanlage bei Nicht-Aktienbesitzern (Source: DAI)

Nur jeder fünfte Nicht-Aktienbesitzer (19 Prozent) hält es für sinnvoll, mit kleinen Anlagebeträgen in den Aktienmarkt zu investieren. Knapp zwei Drittel der Aktionäre (63 Prozent) erkennen, dass eine Geldanlage in Aktien oder Aktienfonds auch mit kleineren Anlagebeträgen sinnvoll ist.

Dabei lässt sich bereits mit einem monatlichen Sparbetrag von 25 Euro, wie es bei vielen Sparplänen auf Aktienfonds oder ETFs möglich ist, langfristig ein beachtliches Sparguthaben aufbauen.

Dies macht folgende Beispielrechnung deutlich:
Wer in den letzten 20 Jahren monatlich 25 Euro (insgesamt 6.000 Euro) in Aktien des Deutschen Aktienindex DAX (z.B. über einen ETF oder Fonds) angelegt hätte, besäße heute 13.000 Euro.

Gerade einmal knapp 10 Prozent des gesamten Geldvermögens, so die Bundesbank, investieren die Deutschen in Aktien. Dabei ist der private Vermögensaufbau der Bevölkerung vor allem auch mit Blick auf die Rente wichtiger denn je.

Was kann getan werden?

 

Mehr Sicherheit in Finanzfragen vermitteln

Es gilt einfach, den Menschen eine größere Sicherheit in Finanzfragen im Allgemeinen und im Umgang mit Aktien und Wertpapieren im Besonderen zu vermitteln. Schließlich spiegeln die mageren neun Prozent der Gesamtheit der Aktionäre deutlich wider, dass das Thema Finanzbildung auch in der Schule bisher keine große Rolle gespielt hat. Sicherlich wäre es hilfreich, Jugendlichen bereits ein Grundwissen über Aktien näher zu bringen. Die Erfahrung mit Aktien verändert die Fähigkeit, Risiken und Chancen der Aktienanlage richtig einzuschätzen, oft signifikant.

Angesichts der zahlreichen Missverständnisse überrascht es nicht, dass die Nicht-Aktienbesitzer nur zu knapp 34 Prozent Aktien und Aktienfonds als geeignete Instrumente zur Vermögensbildung und nur zu 20 Prozent als geeignete Instrumente der Altersvorsorge ansehen. Bei den Aktienbesitzern liegen die Werte dagegen bei 75 beziehungsweise 55 Prozent. Auch bei anderen Einschätzungen zur Aktienanlage sind die Aktionäre meistens deutlich besser informiert – etwa bei der Einschätzung zum Risiko und bei der Frage, ob sich Aktien leicht erwerben lassen.

Aktien müssen bei Reformen der staatlichen Altersvorsorge stärker berücksichtigt werden

Die Politik ist gefordert sich stärker mit dem Thema Aktien zu beschäftigen. Ansatzpunkte dafür gibt es viele. So gibt immerhin fast jeder dritte Nicht-Aktienbesitzer (28 Prozent) an, dass eine bessere staatliche Förderung sein Interesse für die Aktienanlage wecken könnte. Besonderes Augenmerk verdient die Altersvorsorge. Die gesetzliche Rente wird für viele im Alter nicht ausreichen, um den aktuellen Lebensstandard zu halten. Da die Renditevorteile von Aktien vor allem langfristig zum Tragen kommen, sollten sie in der Altersvorsorge eine deutlich größere Rolle spielen als bisher.

Fazit:

Trotz der langen Niedrigzinsphase und Rekordständen an den Börsen hat sich die Zahl der Aktionäre in den letzten Jahren nicht signifikant erhöht. Positiv zu vermerken ist jedoch, dass der persönliche Kontakt mit der Aktienanlage – also erworbenes Erfahrungswissen – diese Einstellungen aufbricht.

 

Source:

Weitere Blogs:

 

 

Aktien-Ignoranz in Deutschland. Warum investieren so wenige Menschen in Aktien? 1

Beitrag teilen

Auf facebook teilen
Auf twitter teilen
Auf linkedin teilen
Auf xing teilen
Auf whatsapp teilen
Auf email teilen

Die letzten Beiträge

Aktiensplit einfach erklärt - Beispiel: Apple

Aktiensplit einfach erklärt - Beispiel: Apple

Bei einem Aktiensplit werden existierende Aktien in eine größere Anzahl neuer Aktien mit einem geringeren…
NEU: S&P 500 und EURO STOXX 50 Aktien

NEU: S&P 500 und EURO STOXX 50 Aktien

Ab sofort sind S&P 500 und EURO STOXX 50 Aktien für alle Premium Benutzer von…
Was ist ein Wikifolio? Wikifolio einfach erklärt

Was ist ein Wikifolio? Wikifolio einfach erklärt

Ein wikifolio ist ein virtuelles Musterportfolio, in dem Aktien, Investmentfonds, ETFs und Zertifikate gekauft und…

Einfach das günstigste Depot finden!

Jetzt unverbindlich und ohne Angabe einer E-Mail Adresse vergleichen und das günstigste Depot finden.

OnVista Bank - Die neue Tradingfreiheit

14 Tage testen

Startklar in 30 Sekunden

* Ohne Angabe einer Kreditkarte

de_DE
en_US de_DE