fbpx

Only 16.2% of Germans invest in stocks - what do the rest of them do with their wealth?

In 2018, around 10.3 million citizens owned shares or equity funds; that's 16.2 percent of the population. 36,5% are over 60 years old.
Reading time: 4 Minutes

TransparentShare - Invested in stocks

Around 10.3 million citizens own shares or equity funds - why invest in shares?

 

The German Stock Institute (DAI) publishes an annual study on the behavior of the population on the subject of stock investments for wealth creation and retirement provision.

In 2018, a total of around 10.3 million citizens owned shares or equity funds; that's 16.2 percent of the population. The number of share owners has thus returned to the level before the financial crisis. The positive development in the number of shareholders is based solely on the increasing number of owners of equity fund and mixed fund units.

 

TransparentShare - invest in stocks

 

Nevertheless, the share plays a rather subordinate role in asset accumulation and retirement provision. Germans still invest their money far too often without interest or with very low interest instead of in shares in current accounts and savings accounts, or rely on insurance savings. This behavior is of course also based on the fear of loss. Investors can build up savings faster and more easily with the share investment or make provisions for old age, since shares generate higher income in the long term.

 

8.9% average return of the DAX

Anyone who invested in the shares of the German share index DAX participated in the price development and dividends of the major German stock market stocks. For example, with an investment period of 20 years, you could earn an average return of 8.9 percent per year on the money invested. In the worst case, the annual return was 3.8 percent, in the best it was 15.2 percent. This is shown, for example, by the return triangle of Deutsche Aktieninstituts.

TransparentShare - yield triangle - invest in stocks
Return triangle of the Deutsches Aktieninstitut (DAI) - as of December 2018

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

36.5% of the stockholders are over 60 years old

The age groups of 40 to 49 year olds and 50 to 59 year olds currently have the greatest affinity for stocks with 20.5 percent and 18.8 percent of the respective population group, respectively. Closely followed by the age group over 60 years (17.6 percent). The younger ones can't keep up here. Only 11.1 percent of the 14 to 39 year old age group are shareholders. The strongest age group in absolute terms was again people over 60 in 2018. In the meantime, almost 3.8 million and thus a third of all stockholders fall into this age group. Younger people tend to have less income and less financial leeway at the beginning of their working life. They tend to pursue shorter-term savings goals and are therefore less invested in stocks. The following graphic shows what percentage of each age group invest in stocks.

TransparentShare - invest in stocks
Age group: invest in stocks (source: DAI)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thankfully, Deutsches Aktieninstitut provided us with further details on the study. We were interested in how the 10.3 million shareholders break down by age group. 8.8% of the shareholders are under 30 years old, 32.4% between 30 and 49, 22.1% between 50 and 59 and more than 36% are even older than 60.

 

TransparentShare - age groups - invest in stocks
Distribution of shareholders in Germany according to age groups

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Every third (31.4%) shareholder earns more than 4,000 euros a month

It is also interesting to consider which income groups own stocks or equity funds. In the income group of 4,000 euros or more, every third person (31.4%) owns shares or equity funds. With a monthly household income of 3,000 to 4,000 euros, the rate is 19.2%. 13.8% have a net income of 2,000 to 3,000 euros, 6.6% between 1,000 and 2,000 euros and 3.8% less than 1,000 euros.

 

TransparentShare - income structure - invest in stocks
Income structure of the shareholders

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Only 8.7% of private financial wealth in stocks

According to the Deutsche Bundesbank, private households have invested just € 529 billion of their financial assets of € 6,052 billion in stocks or equity funds. This corresponds to a share of around 8.7 percent. In comparison, insurance savings account for 37.3 percent (2,257 billion euros) and 39.7 percent (2,405 billion euros) for cash and usually zero to low interest bank deposits.

 

TransparentShare - share in shares - invest in shares
Distribution of financial assets (source: DAI)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So it remains a challenge to get the population in Germany closer to investing in shares. Since stocks represent the more profitable variant as an investment form in the long term, we hope that interest among the younger generation will continue to grow.

The misunderstandings and fears about investing in stocks are still deep. Many no longer trust the stock recommendations in the media and the so-called stock experts. Of course, we also know that it is not easy to find the most profitable companies from the large number of stock corporations.

 

Our recommendation: familiarize yourself with investing in stocks and form your own opinion!

TransparentShare will help you with this. The app rates stocks with objective key figures and offers understandable stock valuation for everyone. Try TransparentShare Premium free of charge for 14 days.

Try it for free

 

Sources for this article:

 

Other interesting articles:

 

 

 

 

Only 16.2% of Germans invest in stocks - what do the rest of them do with their wealth? 1

Share post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on xing
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

The last posts

Stock split explained simply - example: Apple

Stock split explained simply - example: Apple

In a stock split, existing shares are converted into a larger number of new shares with a lower ...
NEW: S&P 500 and EURO STOXX 50 stocks

NEW: S&P 500 and EURO STOXX 50 stocks

With immediate effect, S&P 500 and EURO STOXX 50 shares are available to all premium users of ...
What is a wikifolio? Wikifolio simply explained

What is a wikifolio? Wikifolio simply explained

A wikifolio is a virtual sample portfolio in which stocks, mutual funds, ETFs and certificates are bought and ...

Simply find the cheapest depot!

Compare now without obligation and without specifying an email address and find the cheapest depot.

OnVista Bank - The new trading freedom

Test for 14 days

Ready to go in 30 seconds

* Without specifying a credit card

en_US
de_DE en_US

fbpx

Nur 16,2% der Deutschen investieren in Aktien – Was macht der Rest mit seinem Vermögen?

2018 besaßen rund 10,3 Mio. Bürger Aktien oder Aktienfonds; das sind 16,2 Prozent der Bevölkerung. 36,5% sind über 60 Jahre alt.
Lesezeit: 4 Minuten

Rund 10,3 Mio Bürger besitzen Aktien oder Aktienfonds – Warum in Aktien investierten?

 

Das Deutsche Aktieninstitut (DAI) veröffentlicht jährlich eine Studie über das Verhalten der Bevölkerung zum Thema Aktienanlage für die Vermögensbildung und Altersvorsorge .

Insgesamt besaßen 2018 rund 10,3 Mio. Bürger Aktien oder Aktienfonds; das sind 16,2 Prozent der Bevölkerung. Die Zahl der Aktienbesitzer erreicht somit wieder den Stand vor der Finanzkrise. Die positive Entwicklung der Aktionärszahlen beruht allerdings allein auf der zunehmenden Zahl der Besitzer von Aktienfonds- und Mischfondsanteilen.

 

TransparentShare - in aktien investieren

 

Dennoch spielt die Aktie bei Vermögensaufbau und Altersvorsorge eine eher untergeordnete Rolle. Die Deutschen legen ihr Geld statt in Aktien immer noch viel zu häufig unverzinst oder sehr niedrig verzinst auf dem Girokonto und Sparbuch an oder setzen auf Versicherungssparen. Dieses Verhalten beruht natürlich auch auf der Angst vor Verlusten. Dabei können Anleger mit der Aktienanlage schneller und leichter Ersparnisse aufbauen oder für das Alter vorsorgen, da Aktien langfristig höhere Erträge erwirtschaften.

 

8,9% durchschnittliche Rendite des DAX

Wer in Aktien des Deutschen Aktienindex DAX angelegt hat, partizipierte an der Kursentwicklung und den Dividenden der großen deutschen Börsenwerte. So konnte man beispielsweise bei einem Anlagezeitraum von 20 Jahren eine durchschnittliche Rendite von 8,9 Prozent im Jahr auf das angelegte Geld erwirtschaften. Im schlechtesten Fall lag die jährliche Rendite bei 3,8 Prozent, im besten bei 15,2 Prozent. Das zeigt beispielsweise das Renditedreieck der Deutschen Aktieninstituts.

TransparentShare - renditedreieck - in aktien investieren
Renditedreieck des Deutschen Aktieninstituts (DAI) – Stand: Dezember 2018

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

36,5% der Aktienbesitzer sind über 60 Jahre alt

Die größte Affinität zu Aktien besitzen aktuell die Altersgruppen der 40 bis 49-Jährigen und der 50 bis 59-Jährigen mit jeweils 20,5 Prozent beziehungsweise 18,8 Prozent der jeweiligen Bevölkerungsgruppe. Dicht gefolgt von der Altersgruppe ab 60 Jahre (17,6 Prozent). Die Jüngeren können hier nicht mithalten. Lediglich 11,1 Prozent der Altersgruppe der 14 bis 39-Jährigen sind Aktionäre. Die in absoluten Zahlen stärkste Altersgruppe waren auch 2018 Personen über 60 Jahre. Mittlerweile fallen fast 3,8 Mio. und damit ein Drittel aller Aktienbesitzer in diese Altersgruppe. Jüngere Menschen haben zu Anfang ihres Berufslebens in der Regel weniger Einkommen und geringeren finanziellen Spielraum. Sie verfolgen tendenziell kurzfristigere Sparziele und sind deswegen weniger in Aktien investiert. Die folgende Grafik veranschaulicht, wieviel Prozent der jeweiligen Altersgruppe in Aktien investieren.

TransparentShare - In aktien investieren
Altergruppe: in Aktien investieren (Quelle: DAI)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dankenswerterweise hat uns das Deutsche Aktieninstitut weitere Details zu der Studie zur Verfügung gestellt. Uns hat interessiert, wie sich die 10,3 Mio Aktionäre nach den Altersgruppen aufteilen. 8,8% der Aktionäre sind unter 30 Jahre alt, 32,4% zwischen 30 und 49, 22,1% zwischen 50 und 59 und mehr als 36% sind sogar älter als 60.

 

TransparentShare - Altersgruppen - in aktien investieren
Aufteilung der Aktionäre in Deuschland nach Altersgruppen

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jeder Dritte (31,4%) Aktienbesitzer verdient mehr als 4.000 Euro im Monat

Interessant ist auch zu betrachten welche Einkommensgruppen Aktien oder Aktienfonds besitzen. In der Einkommensgruppe ab 4.000 Euro besitzt jeder Dritte (31,4%) Aktien oder Aktienfonds. Bei einem monatlichen Haushaltseinkommen von 3.000 bis 4.000 Euro liegt die Quote bei 19,2%. 13,8% haben ein Nettoeinkommen von 2.000 bis 3.000 Euro, 6,6% von 1.000 Euro bis 2.000 Euro und 3,8% unter 1.000 Euro.

 

TransparentShare - Einkommensstruktur - in aktien investieren
Einkommensstruktur der Aktienbesitzer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nur 8,7% des privaten Geldvermögens in Aktien

Laut Angaben der Deutschen Bundesbank haben die privaten Haushalte von ihrem Geldvermögen in Höhe von 6.052 Mrd. Euro gerade einmal 529 Mrd. Euro in Aktien oder Aktienfonds investiert. Das entspricht einem Anteil von rund 8,7 Prozent. Im Vergleich dazu entfallen auf das Versicherungssparen 37,3 Prozent (2.257 Mrd. Euro) und 39,7 Prozent (2.405 Mrd. Euro) auf Bargeld und in der Regel null- bis niedrig verzinste Bankeinlagen.

 

TransparentShare - Anteil an Aktien - in aktien investieren
Aufteilung des Geldvermögens (Quelle: DAI)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Es bleibt damit eine Herausforderung die Bevölkerung in Deutschland stärker an die Aktienanlage heranzuführen. Da Aktien als Anlageform langfristig die ertragsreichere Variante darstellen, hoffen wir, dass das Interesse bei der jüngeren Generation weiterhin zunehmen wird.

Die Missverständnisse und Ängste zur Aktienanlage sitzen immer noch tief. Viele vertrauen den Aktienempfehlungen in den Medien und den sogenannten Aktienexperten nicht mehr. Wir wissen natürlich auch, dass es nicht einfach ist aus der Vielzahl der Aktiengesellschaften die renditestärksten herauszufinden.

 

Unsere Empfehlung: Machen Sie sich mit der Aktienanlage vertraut und bilden Sie sich Ihre eigene Meinung!

TransparentShare hilft Ihnen dabei. Die App bewertet Aktien mit objektiven Kennzahlen und bietet nachvollziehbare Aktienbewertung für jedermann. Testen Sie TransparentShare Premium kostenlos für 3 Monate.

 

 

Quellen für diesen Artikel:

 

Weitere interessante Artikel:

 

 

 

 

Nur 16,2% der Deutschen investieren in Aktien - Was macht der Rest mit seinem Vermögen? 1

Beitrag teilen

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on xing
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Die letzten Beiträge

NEU: Aktuelle Nachrichten zu bewerteten Aktien

NEU: Aktuelle Nachrichten zu bewerteten Aktien

Aktuelle Nachrichten zu vielversprechenden Aktien - relevant und unkompliziert, für den schnellen Überblick.
Corona-Krise: Wie kann ich jetzt mein Geld investieren?

Corona-Krise: Wie kann ich jetzt mein Geld investieren?

Deutschland muss im laufenden Jahr mit einem Rückgang des Bruttoinlandsproduktes von drei bis sechs Prozent…
Aktien für Anfänger einfach erklärt

Aktien für Anfänger einfach erklärt

Was muss ich als Börsenneuling beachten? Worauf kommt es beim Aktienhandel an? Benötige ich eine…

Drei Monate testen

Startklar in 30 Sekunden

* Ohne Angabe einer Kreditkarte